“Shazam!” : tales of my comic book reading so far in 2013

Comic book heroes battle it out

So far, 2013 has been pretty action packed. I’ve kept myself extremely busy since finishing university. But I have made time to read more comic books than I ever have done before. And it’s only April!

In this short time I’ve managed to get hold of a number of comics that have been on my reading for sometime now. I’m going through them like there’s no tomorrow! But I’m not complaining…

The best thing is, that I’ve learnt a great deal more about certain superheroes that I never even knew existed.

Just after Christmas I got my hands on a Green Lantern comic book for the first time ever. I already knew a fair bit about Green Lantern though, I read Green Lantern: Secret Origin (2008) by Geoff Johns and Ivan Reis, which I thought was a great read. I’m guessing that the 2011 film was heavily influenced by it as the plot is extremely similar. Hal Jordan is a great character full of emotion and so much to prove with not a lot to lose.

Next, I picked up Kingdom Come (1996) by Mark Waid and Alex Ross, now this in my opinion was fantastic. It’s a great epic tale that brings together some of the best DC characters and them into horrific circumstances. And the artwork – the artwork is fantastic.

Captain Marvel (Shazam)The only thing is that I did think Hal Jordan could have played a bigger part in the book. As well as Aquaman, I would’ve liked to have seen more of the King of Atlantis too. Apart from that though, Kingdom Come really is a brilliant comic book and introduced me to Captain Marvel (Shazam) or, Billy Batson. A character who is granted a number of powers by the wizard, Shazam. He is given the wisdom of Solomon, the strength of Hercules, the stamina of Atlas, the power of Zeus, the courage of Achilles and the speed of Mercury. In the book he goes to-to-toe with Superman, the battle is on a huge scale and a great part of the story.

Another great book that brings various characters together which I have read this year was The League of Extraordinary Gentleman (1999) by Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neil, a Justice League of Victorian England some would say. The comic brings together great characters from classic literature like Mina (Dracula), The Invisible Man, Captain Nemo and Dr. Jekyl / Mr. Hyde. I enjoyed the story and how each character was introduced and developed. But then again I was reading Alan Moore – I should have known it wouldn’t have been bad.

The Dark Knight Strikes Again... unfortunatelyBut unfortunately the same cannot be said about my next choice of reading material. I absolutely love Frank Miller’s work. Sin City, Batman: Year One and The Dark Knight Returns are brilliant. I am a huge fan of his but, the latter’s sequel, The Dark Knight Strikes Again (2001 – 2002) Frank Miller and Lynn Varley, was not to my taste. It lacked… It was just a bit… I just did not like it at all.

So my plan is to continue reading the comic books on my reading list, also to read more of the characters I knew less about like Captain Marvel (Shazam) I’m really interested in finding out more about this character.

As well as reading all these comic books, I also stumbled across a comic book adaptation earlier this year. I watched or witnessed Justice League of America (1997) directed by Felix Enriquez Alcala. A TV movie, which was bad, so bad but for some reason I stuck with it and watched the entire thing.

Comic book writer, Mark Waid said that the film was: “80 minutes of my life I’ll never get back.”

If you’re feeling brave, watch it…

About tomrobinsonblog

I am a film student and budding journalist.
This entry was posted in Articles, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

