MOvember 2013: DAY TEN

MOvember DAY TEN

Day ten… That’s ten whole days into this year’s MOvember 2013. And today’s MOPhoto finds me down a warm, dusty mine with only my MO for company.

Today was Remembrance Sunday and at the centre of commemorations was Whitehall’s Cenotaph. Britain held a two-minute silence at 11am to pay tribute to those who have died in conflicts since the First World War.

My MO is really coming along now, I am chuffed with my progress and am hoping to style my MO this year, past years I’ve just let it grow freestyle.

 

MOvember 2013

 

MOustaches in the news

Dave "Darth Vader" Prowse

Star Wars actor Dave Prowse MBE, has been encouraging MO Bros to take men’s health problems more seriously.

Dave who famously portrayed Darth Vader in the Sci-Fi trilogy, got involved with the charity, Prostate Cancer UK after his brother was diagnosed with the disease.

Dave said: “My brother had been diagnosed and he was treated and went on to recover perfectly fine.”

To show his support Dave organised a golf day to help raise money for the charity. “After the golf day, it was at the cheque presentation that I got chatting to someone from the charity who told me that I was at an increased risk of developing prostate cancer myself, because a close relative diagnosed with the disease.”

After tests with the actors local GP, it was found that Dave too had prostate cancer. “I had no symptoms,” he said. “And there are other men too who won’t have symptoms. My advice is to: just go and see and doctor, it’s as simple as that. There’s a straight blood test, the doctor stuck his fingers up my backside and had a feel. He said my prostate gland was slightly enlarged and later we found out I had cancer.”

Treatment lasted six weeks; during this time Dave used his fame to help others. He concluded: “A lot of people – either who had cancer or had relatives who did – came and started talking to me and asking me for advice. I ending up mentoring all these people and it was great.”

 

 

Famous MOustaches 

Charles Bronson

Charles Bronson (1952 – present)

Born Michael Gordon Peterson on the 6 December 1952 in Luton, Bendfordshire, Bronson is a criminal often referred to as the “most violent prisoner in Britain”.

In 1974, twenty-two year old Bronson was imprisoned for seven years for an armed robbery at a Post Office, during which he stole £26.18.

While in prison, Bronson fought convicts and prison officers, embarked on one-man rooftop protests and during his time in prison has been moved 120 times.

In 1988 Bronson was released but only spent sixty-nine days as a free man before he was arrested again.

In August 2013 a petition with 10,000 signatures was presented to 10 Downing Street calling for his release. Bronson who has spent over 35 years in prison currently resides at Woodhill prison.

Bronson sports the classic ‘Handlebar’ moustache – bushy, with small upward pointing ends.

 

 

Facts about MOustaches

During the late 1990s youths in Roeteng, East Nusa Tenggara, believed that a moustache gave the wearer special powers and abilities. So during this time many youths wore moustaches on their faces in the hope that they too would acquire certain abilities and powers.

One Small group called themselves “The Legion of Hairy Heroes”, and spent most of the nineties fighting crime and aiding locals in need.

 

 

Thanks for reading.

Be sure to follow my blog so as to be kept up to date with my progress…
Please sponsor my MOvember attempt at: http://mobro.co/TomNRS
About tomrobinsonblog

I am a film student and budding journalist.
This entry was posted in MOvember and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

